Certified Information Security Manager

CISM ranks third on the top fifteen highest-paying IT certifications based on the 2020 IT Skills and Salary Report conducted by Global Knowledge.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The management-focused CISM is the globally accepted achievement for individuals who develop, build and manage enterprise information security programs. 

CISM was the winner of the 2020 SC Awards “Best Professional Certification Program,” marking the second time in three years that CISM received this recognition.

CISM was the winner of the 2018 SC Europe Awards for “Best Professional Training or Certification Programme.”

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) is a certification program offered by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). This certification is designed to validate the expertise of information security professionals in managing, designing, and assessing enterprise information security programs.

To be eligible for the CISM certification, candidates must have a minimum of five years of experience in information security management, with at least three years of that experience in the role of information security manager. Additionally, candidates must pass a rigorous examination that covers four domains of knowledge:

  1. Information security governance
  2. Risk management
  3. Information security program development and management
  4. Information security incident management

Once certified, CISM holders must complete ongoing continuing education requirements to maintain their certification.

The CISM certification is globally recognized and respected, and holders of this certification are in high demand by organizations looking for experienced information security professionals to lead their security efforts.

Open chat