In enterprise IT, there is a single point where everything that matters in information, technology and business converges: Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX), a new security knowledge platform and professional program from ISACA.

CSX is helping shape the future of cybersecurity through cutting-edge thought leadership, as well as training and certification programs for the professionals who are leading it there. Building on the strength of ISACA’s globally-recognized expertise, it gives cybersecurity professionals a smarter way to keep organizations and their information more secure.

With CSX, business leaders and cyber professionals can obtain the knowledge, tools, guidance and connections to be at the forefront of a vital and rapidly changing industry. Because Cybersecurity Nexus is at the center of everything that’s coming next.

To be in the know of all things relating to the Cybersecurity and ISACA's cyber security nexus, subscribe to the news letter by clicking " The Nexus"


When it comes to cybersecurity, it’s not enough anymore to just show you have the knowledge — it’s about proving you have the technical skills and ability to do the job from day one. Our new skills-based training and performance-based certifications are designed to help you build, test and showcase your skills in critical areas of cybersecurity.

Whereas other certifications available today test for knowledge in a question and answer format, CSX training and exams are conducted in a live, virtual “cyber lab” environment — providing validation of actual technical skill, ability and performance.

ISACA's new cybersecurity certifications combine skills-based training with performance-based exams and certifications. The seven new Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX) certifications help professionals build and evolve their careers in a constantly changing field and help close the skills gap for employers.

The recently releasedState of Cybersecurity: Implications for 2015study by ISACA and RSA Conference reveals that

  • 82 percent of organizations expect to experience a cyberattack in 2015, yet more than one in three (35 percent) are unable to fill open cyber security positions.
  • Less than half feel their current security teams are able to detect and respond to complex incidents.
  • a million cyber security jobs around the world remain unfilled, according to the Cisco 2014 Annual Security Report. This gap between supply and demand is fueling a widespread vulnerability that has seen cyberattacks emerge as a top technology risk in the World Economic Forum’sGlobal Risks 2015 report.

CSX training and certifications are now offered for skill levels and specialties throughout a professional’s career. ISACA already offers the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) designation for those at the management level, and the Cybersecurity Fundamentals Certificate for those new to the field. The new certifications are:

CSX | Practitioner

A CSX Practitioner certification demonstrates your ability to serve as a first responder, following established procedures, defined processes and working mostly with known problems on a single system. You’ll show you have firewall, patching and anti-virus experience and can implement common security controls, perform vulnerability scans and some analysis.(1 certification, 3 training courses; prerequisite for CSX Specialist)

CSX | Specialist

The CSX Specialist series offers you the opportunity to pursue a certification in a specialty area — allowing you to demonstrate deep knowledge and ability in that domain. Choose from five independent certifications: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond or Recover. These certifications build on the skills developed in CSX Practitioner and test advanced concepts in each of the domains.(5 certifications, 5 training courses; requires CSX Practitioner)

CSX | Expert

A CSX Expert certification establishes your standing as a master-level security professional capable of identifying, analyzing, responding to and mitigating the most complex cybersecurity incidents — usually in intricate enterprise environments that pose significant exposure to attacks. CSX Experts are the authoritative source for all cybersecurity matters within an organization and approve cybersecurity controls.(1 certification, 1 training course; no prerequisites required)


ISACA's holistic program centers on its performance-based certifications at the Practitioner, Specialist and Expert levels. CSX certifications align to existing global cybersecurity frameworks and test the candidate’s ability to perform tasks within the following cybersecurity areas in varying degrees of complexity:

  • Identify: Identification of threats and vulnerabilities
  • Protect: Protection of systems from outside threats
  • Detect: Detection of threats and system vulnerabilities
  • Respond: Response to, and mitigation of, cyber incidents
  • Recover: Recovery from incidents and disasters

For those who are new to the profession or looking to change careers, our knowledge-based Cybersecurity Fundamentals is a great place to start.

For all things relating to the CSX, please click here

Global Knowledge, a leading IT and business skills training provider, is ISACA’s first authorized training provider for the CSX portfolio of courses, available in the third quarter of 2015.

Make the most of your relatioship with ISACA

Become a Member